Labelizer uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Read more about it in our Privacy Policy.
done
help_outline

Frequently Asked Questions


Structure your Inbox with Sub-Labels

If you have a label called "Project A" and want to create a sub-label called "to dos" then simply create a new shared label in Labelizer with the name "Project A/to dos". You can also automatically transfer the access privileges of the parent label - read more about that on our features overview.


Gmail Conversation View

As Labelizer doesn't label incoming messages of a conversation per default (see here why), you can use the Labelizer Gadget to do so. This way you will also be able to see whether a specific message of a conversation is actually labeled with a shared label or not, since Gmail will show a shared label on top of the conversation as soon as only one of these mails is labeled.

We highly recommend the installation of the Labelizer Gadget, especially using the autolabeling feature for automatically sharing new emails in a conversation.

However, if you don't want to use the gadget (or you can't install it because you have a regular Gmail account and not a Google Apps account), there are other possibilities to handle that problem, although you won't be as flexible as with the gadget:

  1. Use the "Auto-Labeling" label: This is an internal label used by Labelizer to mark conversations whose incoming messages should be automatically labeled. This will do the same as the autolabeling function of the Labelizer Gadget. You cannot exclude single mails from the labeling but don't need to manually re-add the labels.
Other ways which we do not explicitly recommend, but will work just fine:
  1. Relabel the conversation: After every new message in the conversation you first have to remove the shared label and then re-add it. Thereby, all mails currently in the conversation (including the new one) will be labeled. You cannot exclude single mails from the labeling but can still use the comfortable conversation view.
  2. Disable the conversation view: Now you will see every mail with its label(s) separately. Now you can add a shared label to individual emails but without the comfort of the conversation view.